English Rockers, Nothing But Thieves Release STELLAR Sophomore Album ‘Broken Machine’

Scroll down to content
Photo by Alex Sturrock

Hailing from Essex, Nothing But Thieves formed in 2012 and haven’t slowed down since. Members include lead vocalist and guitarist Conor Mason, guitarist Joe Langridge-Brown, guitarist and keyboardist Dominic Craik, bassist Philip Blake, and drummer James Price.

If you like Foals/Muse/Panic! at The Disco, this is a band for you.

Nothing But Thieves, debut album artwork

According to a RCA Records press release, Nothing But Thieves’ self-titled debut album in 2015 has sold over 250k and streamed over 174 Million tracks globally to date. Stacking up performances across U.S. television, the band has performed on Jimmy Kimmel Live!, Conan, and The Late Late Show With James Corden. Touring on their debut album included stops at summer’s hottest festivals including BottleRock, Lollapalooza, Austin City Limits, Voodoo Festival, and Life Is Beautiful, along with headlining their own North American tour during the fall of 2016.

September 9, 2017 marked the launch of album number 2, Broken Machine.

Broken Machine, album artwork

The first track to be released was Amsterdam, accompanied by an entrancing video complete with thrashing dancers surviving in a world consumed by technology. 

Sorry was introduced as the next single for the upcoming album. A video accompanied this track as well following a similar theme of the world ending, but reflects on finding peace with your mistakes. A bit slower than the initial single, the new album sounds to be a true reflection of this band’s capabilities.

On August 19, 2017, a lucky crowd at Brixton Academy got a sneak preview of I’m Not Made by Design. The combination of live energy, flashing lights, and quick cut camera shots in this video really built the hype for new music. Listen to the crowd cheer in ‘awe’ as Mason holds the note at 2:52.

A little over a week out (Sept 1, 2017) of the sophomore album launch (Sept 9, 2017), a stripped version of title track Broken Machine was released. The song starts as soft as Conor’s sweater looks, complete with his magical falsetto then transitions into a heavy chorus. There’s a great confidence behind the band here. They’re not playing this like a new track. The muted colors of the video are perfect as not to distract from focusing on the new music. 

September 8, 2017, album release day! Broken Machine is out, complete with 15 tracks, 13 songs with 1 acoustic version of track 3 Sorry and 1 piano version of track 8 Particles.

Outside of the initial released tracks, my early favorites are I Was Just A Kid, Live Like Animals, and Particles. This album really is solid. 

What can fans expect now? Nothing But Thieves will embark on a headlining U.S. tour this fall. No stops currently planned for Texas, but would guess a second leg of tour dates to be dropping for early 2018. 

Do you have a favorite track off Broken Machine or have plans to see them live? Let me know in the comments below.

In the meantime, catch me repping the boys around town.

Be sure to order the new album Broken Machine.

For more from Nothing But Thieves:

Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

4 Replies to “English Rockers, Nothing But Thieves Release STELLAR Sophomore Album ‘Broken Machine’”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: